top of page

Mobile Network Operators: Who Manages the Mobile Network in Switzerland?

Mobile Network Operators in Switzerland

When it comes to mobile networks in Switzerland, it’s important to know which operators manage them and understand the key differences in the coverage and performance of these networks. This knowledge helps in choosing the best one and identifying the best mobile plan providers before making a decision.

 

On this page, you will learn about the mobile network operators in Switzerland, the main features of the three mobile networks, and by the end, you will have all the tools to identify the best operator for your next plan.

 

If you prefer, you can directly compare mobile plans for free on internet-offer.ch using the button below.

Mobile Network Operators in Switzerland: Swisscom vs Sunrise vs Salt

There are three mobile network operators in Switzerland: Swisscom, Sunrise, and Salt. Together, they manage 100% of the mobile network traffic in Switzerland. However, the performance of these three networks can vary, and it is advisable to compare the features of each operator to objectively evaluate which is the best provider.

 

These are the objective criteria for comparing mobile network operators:

  • Technologies: The Swiss mobile network has been well developed since the early 2000s. Like the rest of the world, different generations of signals have been layered from 2G to 5G in Switzerland.

  • Maximum Available Speed: The more developed and modern a network is, the higher the maximum download speed available for your plan. Higher available speeds correspond to greater usability of your smartphone.

  • Mobile Network Coverage: A high-performance mobile network without adequate coverage isn’t very useful. Checking the extent of the mobile network through a coverage map can help in making the right choice.

  • Market Share: A mobile network operator with a high market share indicates that it has been chosen by many others, which is a sign of reliability. At the same time, if too many people are connected under the same network cell, it could cause a slowdown in mobile traffic.


 

In this Image, You Will Find the Characteristics of the Swisscom, Sunrise, and Salt Networks Compared:

Swiss Mobile network comparison

Best Offers from Mobile Network Operators

sunrise Swiss Travel.jpg
swisscom blue Mobile S.jpg
salt Europe Data.jpg

In addition to Swisscom, Salt, and Sunrise, the three mobile network operators in Switzerland, there are many other virtual network operators (MVNO), increasing the choices available to customers who can subscribe to a mobile plan from over 20 different operators.

Compare more than 15 mobile network operators for free in one place!

Operators on the Swisscom Network

The Swisscom network is the most extensive mobile network, offering fast and stable coverage with 4G technology available to 99.9% of the population. However, with the increasing use of data, this network is becoming saturated. For this reason, Swisscom is expanding its 5G network to ensure a fast connection for all its subscribers. By the end of 2023, Swisscom's 5G+ network covered 81% of the population with speeds of up to 2 Gbps.

Which mobile operators use the Swisscom network?

If you think the Swisscom network is right for your needs, remember that other virtual operators also use this network, and you can compare their plans with those of Swisscom.

The following operators use the Swisscom network: Wingo, Coop Mobile, M-Budget Mobile and Mucho Mobile.

Operators on the Sunrise Network

The Sunrise network is the second largest in Switzerland. Sunrise has phased out its 2G network (GSM, GPRS, and Edge) at the beginning of 2023, as part of its sustainable development goals signed with other operators in the Global mobile Suppliers Association (GSA). Sunrise's 5G network covers 96% of the population with a maximum speed of 1 Gbps.

Which mobile operators use the Sunrise network?

Those looking for a plan on the Sunrise network can also consider various virtual mobile network operators that use this network.


The following operators use the Sunrise network: yallo, Digital Republic, swype, Lebara, TalkTalkAldi Suisse Mobile, SAK, Quickline, Galaxus Mobile and Teleboy.

Operators on the Salt Network

Salt Mobile is the third largest mobile network operator in Switzerland, offering 4G/4G+ coverage to 99.9% of the population with speeds of up to 750 Mbps. Salt's 5G network is the least developed of the three Swiss networks but is available in major urban centers such as Zurich and Bern.

Which mobile operators use the Salt network?

The Salt network is the most economical in Switzerland, both among traditional network operators and virtual network operators. Several brands are available if you choose Salt as your next network operator.


The following operators offer services on the Salt network: iWay, VTX, Post Mobile, GoMo, Lidl Connect, SASAG and Lycamobile.

Network Comparison: Which is the Best Network in Switzerland?

According to the nPerf Awards for 2023, the best mobile operator in Switzerland is Swisscom, followed by Salt and Sunrise. This award, given by nPerf, evaluates network operators on various parameters (such as download speed, browsing performance, and latency) collected through speed tests performed directly by end users.

 

Here is the ranking of mobile network operators for 2023:

  1. Swisscom: 110.195 nPoints

  2. Salt: 105.719 nPoints

  3. Sunrise: 104.119 nPoints


It is important to note that this evaluation only concerns the underlying network without considering which mobile plan provider the contract is with. Virtual mobile network operators generally offer affordable plans without commitments but have limitations in terms of speed or other browsing performance parameters.

Discover the Best Plans on internet-offer.ch

Compare Mobile Network Operators with internet-offer.ch

Now that you know more about who manages the mobile networks in Switzerland, it’s time to identify your new provider. Select the desired mobile product and go directly to the comparison section!

Author: Lapo Zarina

Publication: June 2024

Disclaimer: Logos of compared mobile plan providers, nPerf Awards, mobile coverage data, and market share COMCOM | Stock images from WIX or proprietary

bottom of page

top of page

Mobilfunkanbieter: Wer betreibt das Mobilfunknetz in der Schweiz?

Mobilfunk Anbieter in der Schweiz

Wenn es um Mobilfunknetze in der Schweiz geht, ist es wichtig zu wissen, welche Netzanbieter das Netz betreiben und die wichtigsten Unterschiede in Bezug auf die Ausdehnung und Leistung der verschiedenen Netze zu kennen. So können Sie den besten Handy Abo Anbieter identifizieren, bevor Sie sich für ein neues Abonnement entscheiden.

 

Auf dieser Seite erfahren Sie, wer die Netzbetreiber in der Schweiz sind, welche Hauptmerkmale die drei Mobilfunknetze haben, und am Ende haben Sie alle Werkzeuge, um den besten Mobilfunkanbieter für Ihr nächstes Abonnement zu identifizieren.

 

Wenn Sie möchten, können Sie direkt zum kostenlosen Handy Abo Vergleich von internet-offer.ch mit dem folgenden Button wechseln.

Netzanbieter in der Schweiz: Swisscom vs Sunrise vs Salt

Die Netzanbieter in der Schweiz sind Swisscom, Sunrise und Salt. Zusammen bewältigen sie 100 % des Mobilfunk Verkehrs in der Schweiz. Allerdings können die Leistungen der drei Netze unterschiedlich sein, und es ist ratsam, die Eigenschaften der verschiedenen Betreiber zu vergleichen, um objektiv den besten Anbieter zu ermitteln.

 

Dies sind die objektiven Kriterien zum Vergleich der Mobilfunkanbieter:

  • Technologien: Das Schweizer Mobilfunknetz ist seit Anfang der 2000er Jahre gut entwickelt. Wie im Rest der Welt sind die verschiedenen Generationen von Signalen vom 2G bis zum 5G-Signal gestaffelt.

  • Maximale verfügbare Geschwindigkeit: Je weiter entwickelt und moderner ein Netz ist, desto höher kann die maximale Download-Geschwindigkeit für Ihr Abonnement sein. Eine hohe verfügbare Geschwindigkeit bedeutet mehr Nutzungsmöglichkeiten für Ihr Smartphone.

  • Netzabdeckung: Ein leistungsstarkes Mobilfunknetz ist ohne ausreichende Abdeckung wenig wert. Überprüfen Sie die Ausdehnung des Mobilfunknetzes mithilfe einer Netzabdeckungskarte, um bei der Auswahl zu helfen.

  • Marktanteil: Ein Mobilfunkanbieter mit einem hohen Marktanteil bedeutet, dass er von vielen anderen Menschen gewählt wurde, was ein Garant für Qualität ist. Gleichzeitig kann es zu einer Verlangsamung des mobilen Verkehrs kommen, wenn zu viele Menschen unter derselben Netz-Zelle verbunden sind.


 

In diesem Bild finden Sie die Eigenschaften der Netze von Swisscom, Sunrise und Salt im Vergleich:

Mobilfunk Anbieter in der Schweiz

Die besten Abonnements der Telefonanbieter

sunrise Swiss Travel.jpg
swisscom blue Mobile S.jpg
salt Europe Data.jpg

Neben Swisscom, Salt und Sunrise, den drei Mobilfunkanbietern in der Schweiz, gibt es viele weitere virtuelle Netzbetreiber (MVNO), die die Auswahl für Endkunden erweitern. Diese können ein Handy-Abonnement bei mehr als 20 verschiedenen Anbietern abschließen.

Vergleichen Sie kostenlos über 15 Mobilfunkanbieter an einem Ort!

Anbieter im Swisscom-Netz

Das Swisscom-Netz ist das am weitesten ausgebaute Mobilfunknetz und bietet ein schnelles und stabiles Netzwerk mit einer 4G-Abdeckung von 99,9 % der Bevölkerung, auch wenn es aufgrund der steigenden Datennutzung zunehmend ausgelastet ist. Aus diesem Grund erweitert Swisscom die 5G-Netzabdeckung, um allen Abonnenten eine schnelle Verbindung zu garantieren. Ende 2023 deckt das Swisscom 5G+-Netz 81 % der Bevölkerung mit Geschwindigkeiten von bis zu 2 Gbps ab.

Welche Mobilfunkanbieter nutzen das Swisscom-Netz?

Wenn Sie der Meinung sind, dass das Swisscom-Netz das richtige für Ihre Bedürfnisse ist, sollten Sie bedenken, dass auch andere virtuelle Anbieter dieses Netz nutzen und deren Abonnements mit denen von Swisscom verglichen werden können.

Die folgenden Anbieter nutzen das Swisscom-Netz: Wingo, Coop Mobile, M-Budget Mobile und Mucho Mobile.

Anbieter im Sunrise-Netz

Das Sunrise-Netz ist das zweitgrößte Netz in der Schweiz. Sunrise verzichtet auf das 2G-Netz (GSM, GPRS und Edge), das Anfang 2023 abgeschaltet wurde, um sich auf nachhaltige Entwicklung und den Ausbau der 5G-Abdeckung zu konzentrieren. Das 5G-Netz von Sunrise erreicht 96 % der Bevölkerung mit einer maximalen Geschwindigkeit von 1 Gbps.

Welche Mobilfunkanbieter nutzen das Sunrise-Netz?

Wer ein Abonnement im Sunrise-Netz sucht, könnte auch verschiedene virtuelle Mobilfunkanbieter in Betracht ziehen, die dieses Netz nutzen.


Die folgenden Anbieter nutzen das Sunrise-Netz: yallo, Digital Republic, swype, Lebara, TalkTalkAldi Suisse Mobile, SAK, Quickline, Galaxus Mobile und Teleboy.

Anbieter im Salt-Netz

Salt Mobile ist der dritte Mobilfunknetzbetreiber in der Schweiz und deckt 99,9 % der Bevölkerung mit 4G/4G+ und Geschwindigkeiten von bis zu 750 Mbps ab. Das 5G-Netz von Salt ist das am wenigsten ausgebaute der drei schweizerischen Netze, wird jedoch in den wichtigsten städtischen Zentren wie Zürich und Bern gewährleistet.

Welche Mobilfunkanbieter nutzen das Salt-Netz?

Das Salt-Netz ist das günstigste Netz in der Schweiz, sowohl unter den traditionellen Netzbetreibern als auch unter den virtuellen Netzbetreibern. Mehrere Marken stehen zur Verfügung, wenn Sie Salt als Ihren nächsten Netzbetreiber wählen möchten.


Die folgenden Anbieter nutzen das Salt-Netz: iWay, VTX, Post Mobile, GoMo, Lidl Connect, SASAG und Lycamobile.

Netzvergleich: Welches ist das beste Netz in der Schweiz?

Der beste Mobilfunkanbieter in der Schweiz laut den nPerf Awards 2023 ist Swisscom, gefolgt von Salt und Sunrise. Dieser von nPerf verliehene Preis bewertet die Netzbetreiber anhand verschiedener Parameter (wie Download-Geschwindigkeit, Navigationsleistung und Latenz), die durch Speedtests direkt von den Endbenutzern gesammelt werden.

 

Hier ist das Ranking der Mobilfunknetzbetreiber für 2023:

  1. Swisscom: 110.195 nPoints

  2. Salt: 105.719 nPoints

  3. Sunrise: 104.119 nPoints

 

Es ist zu beachten, dass diese Bewertung nur das zugrunde liegende Netz berücksichtigt, ohne zu wissen, welcher Mobilfunkanbieter den Vertrag bereitstellt. Virtuelle Mobilfunkanbieter bieten in der Regel günstige Abonnements ohne Bindung an, haben jedoch Einschränkungen hinsichtlich Geschwindigkeit oder anderer Leistungsparameter. 

Entdecken Sie die besten Abonnements auf internet-offer.ch

Vergleichen Sie die Mobilfunkanbieter mit internet-offer.ch

Jetzt, wo Sie mehr über die Mobilfunkanbieter in der Schweiz wissen, ist es an der Zeit, Ihren neuen Anbieter zu identifizieren. Wählen Sie das gewünschte Mobilfunkprodukt aus und gehen Sie direkt zur Vergleichs Sektion!

Autor: Lapo Zarina

Veröffentlichung: Juni 2024

Disclaimer: Logos der verglichenen Mobilfunkanbieter, nPerf Awards, Mobile Netzabdeckung und Marktanteile COMCOM | Stockbilder WIX oder eigene

bottom of page